Welcome From Anderson Commission Chair

Welcome to Anderson County! We have a proud past of trail-blazing in areas of both scientific and social advancement, from being the location of the first Hydroelectric Dam constructed by TVA, and bringing the world into the nuclear age with our participation in the Manhattan Project, to having the first integrated public school in the south. We strive to continue that tradition with our excellent schools, our close partnerships with TVA and the Department of Energy, and our commitment to being a great place to live and work. We’re also a great place to just come for a visit with the stunning natural beauty surrounding Norris Lake and the Clinch River, to our several museums showcasing the county’s rich history. Our nearly 80,000 residents are proudly represented by 16 commissioners, 2 from each of the 8 commission districts which comprise the county, who are elected every 4 years. We are all just a phone call or email away, and are eager to serve you.

Sincerely, Joshua Anderson, Chairman

County Commission

The County Commission is the county legislative body of Anderson County Government. It is composed of sixteen members chosen by nonpartisan election, with two representing each of the county’s eight election districts. The constitution of Tennessee provides that counties are an extension of the state. A county’s authority is limited to those areas expressly granted to it by the constitution or the state legislature. The primary duties of the County Commission, as set forth in state law, include:

  • Setting county property tax rates,
  • Authorizing collection of miscellaneous taxes,
  • Authorizing capital projects and bond issues,
  • Adopting the county’s annual budget,
  • Appropriating all funds used in the operation of the county,
  • Approving zoning outside incorporated municipalities,
  • Adopting county building codes,
  • Contracting for annual audit of county records,
  • Recommending personnel policies for county offices,
  • Making appointments to most county committees, boards and commissions.
Officials Tristar

Commission Office:

Annette R. Prewitt, Chief Deputy

100 North Main Street, Room 118
Clinton, TN 37716
Telephone: 865-463-6866
Fax: 865-264-6264

Useful Links

Public & Legal Notices
County Commission Rules
Commission 2022 Meeting Schedule
Commission Motion Database
Application to Serve
County Commission Committees
County Commission Boards
Scholarship Program
ASAP Update-2022
Watch Meetings-ACTV

Below you will find the list of commissioners by district.  If you are unsure of which commissioner represents your district, click on the district number for a map. Click here for a PDF of the Commissioners contact list.

The Anderson County Commission meets on the third Monday of each month except in January and February when they meet on the third Tuesday due to the county’s holiday schedule.  Commission meets in room 312 of the Anderson County Courthouse at 6:30 p.m.

All meetings are open to the public, in accordance with Tennessee’s Sunshine Laws. Public Hearings, Special Presentations, Proclamations and Courtesy Resolutions are presented 30 minutes prior to the regular meeting.

1st District Commissioners Serving Claxton & Bull Run (click here for map)

Officials Tristar
Tracy WandellCounty Commissioner
Address: 117 Hilltop Lane
Powell, TN 37849
Phone: (865) 945-1735
Email: twandell@andersoncountytn.gov
Officials Tristar
Chuck FrittsCounty Commissioner, 1st District
Address: 120 West Lane
Powell, TN 37849
Phone: (865) 599-6128
Email: cf3533@msn.com

2nd District Commissioners Serving Clinton, South Clinton, & North Clinton (click here for map)

Robert Jameson - Commissioner 2nd District
Officials Tristar
Robert JamesonCounty Commissioner, 2nd District
Address: 110 Waterston Way
Clinton, TN 37716
Phone: (865) 457-5668
Email: rjameson@andersoncountytn.gov
Officials Tristar
Rick MeredithCounty Commissioner, 2nd District
Address: 422 Mariner Point drive
Clinton, TN 37716
Phone: (865) 414-1157
Email: rmeredith@andersoncountytn.gov

3rd District Commissioners Serving Andersonville, Fairview, Norris, & Glen Alpine (click here for map)

Officials Tristar
Joshua AndersonCounty Commissioner, 3rd District
Address: 549 Brooks Gap Rd
Clinton, TN 37716
Phone: (865) 771-4495
Email: joshanderson1984@gmail.com
Officials Tristar
Denver WaddellCounty Commissioner, 3rd District
Address: 245 Cross Pike Road
Clinton, TN 37716
Phone: (865) 659-4983
Email: denverwaddell@gmail.com

4th District Commissioners Serving Lake City Middle, Rocky Top, Briceville, Clinton Middle, & Rosedale (click here for map)

Officials Tristar
Shain VowellCounty Commissioner, 4th District
Address: 3845 Dutch Valley Road
Clinton, TN 37716
Phone: (865) 806-8608
Email: jsvowell1@gmail.com
Officials Tristar
Tim IsbelCounty Commissioner, 4th District
Address: 150 Luke Leinart Lane
Rocky Top, TN 37769
Phone: (865) 406-2455
Email: isbelt@ymail.com

5th District Commissioners Serving Clinton High, Marlow, Norwood, & Dutch Valley (click here for map)

Officials Tristar
Robert McKameyCounty Commissioner, 5th District
Address: 1644 Sulphur Springs Rd
Clinton, TN 37716
Phone: (865) 269-4846
Email: robertmckamey@comcast.net
Officials Tristar
Jerry WhiteCounty Commissioner, 5th District
Address: 2357 Dutch Valley Rd
Clinton, TN 37716
Phone: (865) 207-1635
Email: jwhite@andersoncountytn.gov

6th District Commissioners Serving Oak Ridge City Hall, Robertsville, & West Hills (click here for map)

Officials Tristar
Steve MeadCounty Commissioner, 6th District
Address: 104 Walton Lane
Oak Ridge, TN 37830
Phone: (865) 482-1469
Email: meadsteven1@protonmail.com
Catherine Denenberg - Commissioner 6th District
Officials Tristar
Catherine DenenbergCounty Commissioner, 6th District
Address: 122 Salem Road
Oak Ridge, TN 37830
Phone: (865) 483-4662
Email: cdenenberg@andersoncountytn.gov

7th District Commissioners Serving Highland View, Pine Valley, & Glenwood (click here for map)

Officials Tristar
Jerry CreaseyCounty Commissioner, 7th District
Address: P. O. Box 6936
Oak Ridge, TN 37831
Phone: (865) 482-1171
Email: jacreasey@bellsouth.net
Officials Tristar
Theresa ScottCounty Commissioner, 7th District
Address: P.O. Box 7047
Oak Ridge, TN 37831
Phone: (865) 679-6499
Email: scottacc7@gmail.com

8th District Commissioners Serving Emory Valley, Woodland, & Hendix Creek (click here for map)

Officials Tristar
Phil YagerCounty Commissioner, 7th District
Address: 66 Riverview Dr
Oak Ridge, TN 37830
Phone: (865) 296-1552
Email: pyager@andersoncountytn.gov
Officials Tristar
Bob SmallridgeCounty Commissioner, 7th District
Address: 108 Carnegie Drive
Oak Ridge, TN 37830
Phone: (865) 483-0797
Email: rjsmall@yahoo.com