Anderson County Board of Commissioners

EMS Audit Advisory Committee MINUTES

August 15, 2017

Members Present: Randy Walters (Project Manager), Rickey Rose, Jerry White, Phil Warfield, Shain Vowell, Steve Newby, Chief Darryl Kerley, Theresa Scott, Myron Iwanski, Jodie Turner, Dale Isabell, and Dave Anderson, Sr.

Also Present: County Law Director, Jay Yeager

Absent: Stephanie Fox

Item #1 – Project Purpose and Objective

Mr. Walters informed the committee its primary function is to provide informed input, consultation, and support to ensure the successful execution and completion of the Operational and Financial Performance Audit of the Anderson County Government's EMS.

<u>Item #2 – Role of the Committee</u>

Project Manager Walters relayed committee members responsibilities include:

- Contributing input to project consultants;
- Refining, confirming, maintaining, and protecting project scope;
- Monitoring and reviewing the project work plan and status;
- Providing assistance to the Project Manager;
- Resolving committee conflicts and disputes and implementing resolutions;
- Formally accepting project deliverables; and
- Making recommendations to the County Board of Commissioners.

Item #3 – Committee Members Introductions

Individuals introduced themselves and talked about their background and qualifications to serve on the committee.

<u>Item #4 – County Law Director Yeager's Comments; Nominations and Election of</u> Committee Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary

Law Director Yeager informed committee members the open records, open meeting law, Ethics Policy, and Robert Rules of Order apply. Additionally, the chair or vice chair must lead each meeting. Further, look closely at written deliverables, and ask the contractor for an early draft. He then conducted elections. These individuals were elected to the offices indicated:

- Chair: Myron Iwanski, nominated by Rickey Rose. The person's name who seconded was not recorded.
- Vice Chair: Phil Warfield, nominated by Theresa Scott; Dave Anderson, Sr., seconded.
- Secretary: Dave Anderson, Sr., nominated by Jerry White; Chief Darryl Kerley seconded.

The Law Director presented contact info should committee members need to contact him.

- E-mail: Jyeager@aclawdirector.com
- Office Phone: 865-457-6290; Cell: 865-789-5552

Item #5 - Ambulance Response Time in Anderson County

Chief Kerley asked, what is an acceptable amount of time to expect an ambulance on the scene in Anderson County? That will determine the number of ambulances, services, response time, and willingness to pay.

<u>Adjournment</u> - The meeting adjourned with parting words by Mr. Walters. Who motioned and seconded was not recorded.